Login Newsletter Contact

Ostrava Days Institute

10 – 29 Aug 2015

Ostrava Center for New Music


August 10 - 29, 2015


Peter Ablinger (Berlin)
Richard Ayres (Amsterdam)
Johannes Kalitzke (Vienna)
Petr Kotík (Ostrava / New York)
Bernhard Lang (Vienna)
George Lewis (New York)
Alvin Lucier (Middletown, CT)
Alex Mincek (New York)
Phill Niblock (New York)
Helmut Oehring (Berlin)
Rolf Riehm (Cologne)
Jennifer Walshe (Dublin)
Christian Wolff (Hanover, US)

Other Participants: Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra, Ostravská banda, Canticum Ostrava & Jurij Galatenko, Elole trio, Mivos Quartet, String Noise, Reinhold Friedrich (trumpet), Hana Kotková (violin)David Moss & Thomas Buckner (voice), Annette Schönmüller (mezzosoprano), Daan Vandewalle (piano) and Vilém Veverka (oboe) among others

Conductors: Rolf Gupta, Johannes Kalitzke, Roland Kluttig, Petr Kotík, Ondřej Vrabec

The Ostrava Days Institute is a working environment with a focus, among others, on compositions for orchestra. There are two resident orchestras: the 95-piece Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra and the 35-piece Ostravská banda. Additionally, there are resident ensembles, Canticum Ostrava choir, and many soloists. The Ostrava Days Institute is linked with the Ostrava Days Festival, which includes compositions by students and lectors and works by John Cage, B. A. Zimmermann, Iannis Xenakis, Morton Feldman, and György Ligeti, among others. OD Institute accepts up to 35 resident-students to ensure one-on-one interactions among all participants. The working language is English. 

Resident-students will be chosen through a review of no more than three scores and audio samples. The program of the festival’s opening concert will include works for 3 orchestras. Up to two student pieces may be included.

Application deadline is March 1, 2015. The result will be announced at the end of April 2015.

Tuition: 2 200 EUR / 2 600 USD (includes full room and board for three weeks). Limited financial assistance in available.

Go to member's Profile >
© 2010 ECPNM, European Conference of Promoters of New Music. All Rights Reserved.