Login Newsletter Contact

Marko Nikodijevic wins Gaudeamus Prize 2010

with links to documentation


Marko Nikodijevic
Marko Nikodijevic

Marko Nikodijevic receives the award of 4,550 Euros, intended as a commission for a new work to be performed at the next edition of the International Gaudeamus Music Week in 2011. He received the prize for cvetic, kucica.../la lugubre gondola, performed on September 11 in the “Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ” by Holland Symfonia conducted by Hans Leenders.

Honorable mentions

There were two honorable mentions: Artur Akshelyan (1984, Armenia) received a mention for Lichtfarben for violin and ensemble, performed on September 11 at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam by ensemble Insomnio with soloist Mieko Kanno. The other honorable mention went to Giuliano Bracci (1980, Italy) for Da uno spazio bianco performed by Holland Symfonia.


The Gaudeamus Prize and the honorable mentions were awarded by jury members Helena Tulve (Estonia), Donnacha Dennehy (Ireland) and Willem Jeths (The Netherlands). For this year’s International Gaudeamus Music Week, which was open to composers under 31, the Gaudeamus Foundation received more than 400 scores from all over the world; the jury subsequently selected 21 works to compete for the Gaudeamus Prize 2010.

Organ Prize

There was another prize of 4,550 Euros awarded in de Gaudeamus Music Week, sponsord by the “Orgelpark”, a concert venue in Amsterdam for organists, composers and other artists. The Organ Prize for the best work in which organ is involved is a commission to write a new work for organ to be premiered at the Orgelpark. The jury has awarded this Prize to the American composer Jacob Adler (1980) for his work Hollerin' in the Orgelpark for 4 organs, two piano’s and a laptop.

On blog.eigentijds.radio4.nl you can watch and listen to concerts, interviews and videos recorded by the VPRO (Dutch Public Radio & Television) during the Gaudeamus Musicweek 2010.

On the web magazine of the New Music Box of the American Music Center you can reed Ruby Fultons blog and by opening this publication you can read the program book or you can look through the press clippings while listening to the winning composition.

© 2010 ECPNM, European Conference of Promoters of New Music. All Rights Reserved.