Login Newsletter Contact



The jury of the Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2012, consisting of Martijn Padding (The Netherlands), Annie Gosfield (USA), and Christopher Butterfield (Canada), has nominated thirteen compositions for the Gaudeamus Prize 2012. These compositions, selected from almost 300 entries, will be performed in the International Gaudeamus Muziekweek (Music Week). At the conclusion of the Gaudeamus Muziekweek this same jury will announce the winner of the Gaudeamus Prize 2012.

The Gaudeamus Prize, currently € 4,550, is a commission for a new work. This commissioned work is generally performed during the following Gaudeamus Muziekweek.

 The Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2012 will take place from Sunday, September 2 to Sunday, September 9 in Utrecht, the Netherlands.

The nominees for the Gaudeamus Prize 2012 are:

Andrzej Kwiecinski (1984, Poland/The Netherlands)
Umbrae B – for string quartet

Andys Skordis (1983, Cyprus/The Netherlands)
7 Unceremonious occasions -­‐ for two trumpets, horn, trombone and tuba

Beavan Flanagan (1987, Canada)
L'essence perd son sens – for string trio

Benjamin Scheuer (1987, Duitsland)
Fratzen – for clarinet and piano

Charlie Piper (1982, Engeland)
Insomniac – for ensemble

Edward Hamel (1986, Amerika)
Countenance – for alto flute, English horn, bariton saxophone, violon, viola, cello and double bass

Eli Keszler (1983, Amerika)
Cold Pin -­‐ for mechanical string installation, drums, three guitars, trumpet, alto saxophone and fagot

Sergey Khismatov (1983, Rusland)
Microphones Quartet – for four performers with four microphones and a piano

Konstantin Heuer (1989, Duitsland)
Alaska – for two speakers, soprano, tenor, bas, six violins, viola, cello and electronics

Thanasis Deligiannis (1983, Griekenland/Nederland)
Yriaeas – for flute/bass flute, hobo/English horn, clarinet/bass clarinet, fagot, horn, trumpet, trombone and double bass

Turgut Ercetin (1983, Turkije/Amerika)
String Quartet No.1 "December" -­‐ for string quartet and live electronics

Maxim Shalygin (1985, Oekraïne/Nederland)
"Letters to Anna" Symphony for violin solo – for violin

Manuella Blackburn (1984, Engeland)
Switched on – for electronic music

The registration period for the Gaudeamus Prize 2013 will be from 1 August - 1 October 2012.


More info on our website. You can also follow us on Facebook or Twitter.

© 2010 ECPNM, European Conference of Promoters of New Music. All Rights Reserved.