Login Newsletter Contact



Thirteen compositions have been shortlisted for the Gaudeamus Prize 2013. Over 200 composers under the age of 30, hailing from 29 different countries, entered a composition in hopes of winning this much sought-after award. Now the jury, consisting of Peter Adriaansz (NL), Annelies van Parys (BE), and Dmitri Kourliandski (RU) has made its selection. At the end of the Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2013 it will determine the winner of the Gaudeamus Prize. All nominated works will be performed during Gaudeamus Muziekweek which runs from 1 through 8 September 2013 in Utrecht, the Netherlands.

Gaudeamus Muziekweek is an internationally renowned festival for young composers and new music. It takes place annually in various locations in the central Dutch city of Utrecht. Apart from the short-listed works, Gaudeamus Muziekweek features numerous other pieces by young composers, including the new composition commissioned by the festival from the winner of the Gaudeamus Prize 2012, Konstantin Heuer (born 1989). In addition, there will be discussions, meetings, and talks with composers as well as sound installations in unusual locations. Next year's program will be announced in June. Gaudeamus Muziekweek runs from 1 through 8 September 2013.

The winner of the Gaudeamus Prize 2013 will receive €4,550 to write a composition for Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2014. Many composers dream of winning the prestigious prize that can help launch their international careers. This year's nominees are:

Abel Paúl (1984, Spain)
The end of lines – 2 flutes, oboe, 2 clarinets, alto sax,  percussion, harp, piano, celesta, harpsichord, cello

Alexander Khubeev (1986, Russia)
Sounds of the dark time - oboe, clarinet, bassoon, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello

Amit Gilutz (1983, Israel)
The Task of Interpretation (a counterpoint to Edward Said) - prepared string quartet, gamelan and electronics

Clara Iannotta (1983, Italy)
D'après - flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola, cello

Daniel Moreira (1984, Brazil)
The King from Papatua - ensemble and bariton

Elena Rykova (1991, Russia)
The Mirror of Galadriel - 2 performers on fir and pine tree cones, tennis table

Emre Kaleli (1987, Turkey)
Il voto dell'innocenza - 2 clarinets in B-flat (or 2 soprano saxophones), sine waves, midi keyboard, piano, percussion, electric guitar, double bass (or electric bass with e-bow)

Esaias Järnegard (1983, Sweden)
Order, part 1 - flute and percussion

Germán Alonso (1984, Spain)
So f**king easy - bass clarinet, horn, trumpet, trombone, percussion, contrabass

Gijs van der Heijden (1982, The Netherlands)
Our Primary Differences - electric guitar and piano

Jacob Gotlib (1984, USA)
Portrait Sequence (Blanching Out) - percussion duo

Taylor Brook (1985, Canada)
Motorman Fragments - SATBar, clarinet, cello, guitar, percussion

Tobias Klich (1983, Germany)
Grüntrübe Ritornelle beim Verlassen des Territoriums - prepared, amplified guitar and electronics

Click here to get an impression of the work of the jury.

© 2010 ECPNM, European Conference of Promoters of New Music. All Rights Reserved.